Deleting a group will not delete the student accounts within it. If you wish to delete student accounts, learn how here.
First, go to the My Students link in the upper menu. On the next page, click Groups on the left side menu. To the right of the group you wish to delete, you will see the DELETE option. Click it to delete the group. This action cannot be undone.