Groups are the classes your students are registered into. Groups are used to assign Projects and Courses to your students.
- Creating Groups
- Adding students to a Group
- Resetting Group invite code
- Removing students from a Group
- Deleting Groups
Groups are available under all paid Classroom Learning plans.
To create a new group, navigate to the 'My students' (or 'My School') page through the top navigation bar, open the 'Groups' tab and click the grey 'Add Group' button above the list of your existing groups, then enter a name. You can now add students and create projects for this specific group. Please note that you do not need to create groups for your Courses as each course automatically creates a dedicated group 'Participants of <course title>'.
Adding students to a group
Once the group has been created, click the 'Add users' text next to it.
You can see all members of a particular group by clicking on the group's name.
Adding new student accounts to a group.
Please refer to the Student Registration article.
Adding existing student accounts to a group.
If you want to add an existing user to a group, you can either share an invite code with them and ask them to enter it via the 'Join Course' button on the 'Courses' page.
In addition, you can use the 'Invite by email' option. Simply paste the email your student uses to access ThingLink and click the 'Send invite' button. Your student will see an invitation to join your group once they login into their ThingLink account. The invitation will not be sent to their email address.
Resetting a group invite code
If your students are experiencing any issues while joining via an invite code, please reset it by clicking the 'Settings' text next to a group's name, then clicking the 'Reset group invite code' and sharing the new invite code. If the issue persists, please submit a request for technical support.
Removing students from a group
If you wish to remove a particular student from a group, click on the group's name, then click the 'Remove from group' text next to a student's name. You can also remove a student from a course by removing them from the course's group.
Please note that removing a student from all of your groups does not disconnect them from your account. See the 'Remove from organization' and 'Delete student account' above for more information.
To delete a group, simply click the 'Delete' text next to a group's name. Note that deleting a group will not delete any accounts associated with it but will delete all associated projects. A course group can be deleted only after the course itself has been deleted.