Starting January 20, 2022, any file, folder or user you remove from your account will be moved to a trash bin. This is done to reduce the number of accidental deletions and give you a chance to recover deleted content.
Content & folders
Whenever you remove content from your profile, it will be moved to the trash bin. You can access the trash bin by selecting the tab in the navigation menu on the left-hand side:
From here, you can either delete your content permanently or restore it. Simply select the item and use the corresponding buttons:
Once restored, it will appear on the My content tab again. If you are restoring a lot of files or folders at the same time, you may need to wait a few seconds before the files reappear.
If you move a folder to the trash bin, all subfolders and content within the folder will be moved to trash, too. If you restore the folder, all of its content will be restored.
This update also applies to users. Instead of deleting a user immediately, you'll now see an option to deactivate their account:
If you deactivate a user, all of their content and folders will be deactivated, too. A deactivated user will not be able to access their ThingLink account.
You can then either restore the account or delete it permanently via Organization - Deactivated users tab:
Note that deactivated users still count towards your seats limit.
Notes & FAQ
Embeds & links
If you've shared a file before moving it to the trash bin, all embeds and links will show an error message as if it was deleted. If you restore the file, all links and embeds will become functional again. You will not need to update them.
Trash bins cannot be shared between users. As a result, any content deleted from shared folders will be moved to the folder creator's trash bin. Collaborators will not be able to restore it.
For example, if you share a folder with your students and they accidentally delete a file from that folder, only you will see it in your trash bin and have the option to restore or delete it.
The same logic applies to deleted folders - if you set up a folder, give someone admin access and they delete the folder, you'll still be able to restore it via the trash bin.
How long is the content kept in the trash bin?
Any content you move to the trash bin (and deactivated users) will remain there indefinitely until you either restore it or delete it permanently.
Does this affect data retention?
Not at all. You can still delete any information we hold on you (or your users, students) immediately. However, this will now require an additional action to avoid accidental deletions.
Can I restore a file or a folder if I deleted it permanently?
Can I restore content from deactivated accounts?
If you've deactivated an account, you can still restore it and all of its content. If you've permanently deleted an account then all content has been erased.
If you wish to delete a user but keep some of their content, please reach out to our support team.
Please sign in to leave a comment.