ThingLink content can be set to one of 3 different visibility settings:
- My Organization - available only to signed-in members of your organization on ThingLink.
- Unlisted - available to anyone who has a link
- Private - available only to you and members of a private folder
To share any media publicly, make sure that its visibility setting is set to 'Unlisted'. If you are sharing a ThingLink tour, make sure that all scenes within it are set to these settings.
Changing a scene's visibility setting
To adjust this setting, open your scene, then click the 'Privacy settings' button (eye icon) and select one of the options in the popup window:
'My organization' content will be visible only to signed-in users who belong to your organization on ThingLink. Depending on your account type, this includes members of your Premium business/eLearning team, students from your groups, or all members of your School on ThingLink. The content will not appear as a search result on ThingLink and web search engines (e.g. Google). If anyone visits the scene via a direct link, they'll get a blank page with the following message: "This image is not available right now". The same message will be displayed in all existing embeds.
Unlisted content can be accessed by anyone with a link to the scene. Viewers do not need to log in.
Use this setting if you are sharing content publicly with those who do not have a ThingLink account.
Private content is unavailable to everyone but you. If it's located in a private folder you've shared with other members of your organization, they will be able to see and edit it. People without access to the folder will not be able to access it.
What happened to the 'Public' option?
The 'Public' option that allowed anyone with a link to view the content and allowed search engines to index the link was deprecated in February 2024 due to some changes in how link indexing works.
Any content that was previously set to 'Public' is now 'Unlisted', so it will remain available to your viewers. You do not need to update the content or take any action to ensure it's still available.