ThingLink content can be set to one of 4 different visibility settings:
- My Organization - available only to signed-in members of your organization on ThingLink
- Public - available to everyone and can be found via web search engines. This setting is not available to students.
- Unlisted - available to everyone who has a link
- Private - available only to you and members of a private folder
To share any media, make sure that it's visibility setting is set to either 'Public' or 'Unlisted'. If you are sharing a ThingLink tour, make sure that all scenes within it are set to these settings.
Changing a scene's visibility setting
Adjust this setting by clicking the gear icon on the scene's page and selecting one of the options in the popup window:
'My organization' content will be visible only to signed-in users who belong to your organization on ThingLink. Depending on your account type, this includes members of your Premium business/eLearning team, students from your groups or all members of your School on ThingLink. The content will not appear as a search result on ThingLink and web search engines (e.g. Google). If anyone visits the scene via a direct link, they'll get a blank page with the following message: "This image is not available right now". The same message will be displayed in all existing embeds.
Public content is available to everyone and will be indexed by web search engines as well as ThingLink's internal search. Viewers do not need to log in to access the media.
Note that this setting is not available to students. If you are a student, please use the 'Unlisted' option instead.
Unlisted content can be accessed by anyone with the link to the scene but will not be listed in searches. Viewers do not need to log in.
Private content is unavailable to everyone but you. If it's located in a private folder you've shared with other members of your organization, they will be able to see and edit it. People without access to the folder will not be able to access it.
Can't find visibility settings?
If you cannot find the visibility settings, please ensure that you are using the new user interface. Go to 'Account settings' by clicking the drop-down menu in the upper-right corner and clicking the gears icon. Then, select the 'Interface settings' tab and make sure to enable the new UI.